• Twitter
  • Facebook
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.
Tailing the Komets

Congrats to Lumberjacks

They are celebrating the 50th anniversary of pro hockey in Muskegon this Saturday. Only Hershey, Pa., Springfield, Mass., and Fort Wayne have lasted as long.

Muskegon has won 10 championships over that time and reached the finals 17 times. Among the things the Lumberjacks will do to celebrate this season are retiring Jock Callander's No. 15 and Dave Michayluk's No. 27, adding to Moose Lallo's No. 2, Lynn Margarit's No. 5, Joe Kastelic's No. 6, Gary Ford's No. 9, Bryan McLay's No. 12, Bob Tombari's No. 15, Scott Feasby's No. 20 and Scott Gruhl's No. 24.

This weekend the Lumberjacks will honor such Muskegon greats as Jim Bannatyne, Joe Kiss, Darrell Knibbs, Gerry Moore, Dan Sharpe, Bob Smith, Bryan McLay, Sergei Kharin

Posted in: Komets


komets pa
Tue, 10/13/2009 - 6:08pm

Alright longtimers, someone follow my lead....JOCK...

Tue, 10/13/2009 - 6:37pm


Tue, 10/13/2009 - 6:41pm

When you look at that list there really are some very good hockey players listed. Some of those guys you just loved to hate. They could sure play the game. Drove a lot of Komet teams crazy.

Tue, 10/13/2009 - 6:46pm

Especially with this economy and the league as it stands today, we all should congratulate the city of Muskegon for 50 years of existence.

Tue, 10/13/2009 - 7:09pm

wow! do those names bring back some childhood memories!!

Tue, 10/13/2009 - 7:39pm

I wasn't aware they had retired Scottie Gruhl's number. He most certainly deserved it, I'm just surprised considering the circumstances under which he left there and came here.

Congratulations Muskegon and welcome to the half-century club. I'm happy for you.

Tue, 10/13/2009 - 8:00pm

Steve-- I think they are going to retire Scotts number this year. His Komet sweater (jersey) is in the Hockey Hall of Fame.