• Twitter
  • Facebook
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.
Tailing the Komets

DeAngelis named defensive finalist

 The Central Hockey League (CHL) announced on Friday the five finalists for the CHL Most Valuable Player, Most Outstanding Goaltender (Scott Brower Award), Most Outstanding Defenseman and Rookie of the Year awards.  After a nomination period by CHL teams, the league front office determined the finalists for each award.  Balloting will take place among CHL Head Coaches, team Communications Departments and select media members in CHL markets to determine the winners.

2010-11 CHL Most Valuable Player candidates include Rapid City forward Ryan Menei, Colorado forward Riley Nelson, Missouri goaltender Robby Nolan, Odessa forward Sebastien Thinel (2009 CHL MVP) and Allen forward Colton Yellow Horn.

MVP Finalists

Ryan Menei, Rapid City
Riley Nelson, Colorado
Robby Nolan, Missouri
Sebastien Thinel, Odessa
Colton Yellow Horn, Allen

The finalists for the Most Outstanding Goaltender Award (Scott Brower Award) include Rapid City's Danny Battochio (2010 CHL Rookie of the Year), Quad City's David Brown, Dayton's Jeff Jakaitis, Colorado's Kyle Jones and Missouri's Robby Nolan.

MOG Finalists
Danny Battochio, Rapid City
David Brown, Quad City
Jeff Jakaitis, Dayton
Kyle Jones, Colorado
Robby Nolan, Missouri

The selected player to compete for Most Outstanding Defenseman are Rio Grande Valley's Darcy Campbell, Fort Wayne's Frankie DeAngelis, Tulsa's Derek Eastman, Texas' Jason Krischuk and Wichita's Andrew Martens

MOD Finalists
Darcy Campbell, Rio Grande Valley
Frankie DeAngelis, Fort Wayne
Derek Eastman, Tulsa
Jason Krischuk, Texas
Andrew Martens, Wichita

Rookie of the Year honors will be determined amongst Rio Grande Valley forward Aaron Lewicki, Bloomington defenseman Alan Mazur, Texas goaltender Wayne Savage, Allen defenseman/forward David Strathman and Tulsa forward Gary Steffes.

ROY Finalists

Aaron Lewicki, Rio Grande Valley
Alan Mazur, Bloomington
Wayne Savage, Texas
David Strathman, Allen
Gary Steffes, Tulsa
Additional awards to be determined include Coach of the Year, Equipment Manager of the Year and Athletic Trainer of the Year, as determined by their CHL peers, along with six member All-CHL and All-Rookie teams (voted on by CHL Head Coaches).  The CHL's regular season point leader will receive the Joe Burton Scoring Champion award and based on supporting materials submitted from CHL member teams the CHL front office will announce the Rick Kozuback Award winner (perseverance, determination and commitment to hockey) and the five finalists and winner for the CHL Man of the Year Award (for outstanding leadership and contributions to the community).

Posted in: Komets


Fri, 03/11/2011 - 3:01pm

Nolan = Should've been a Komet.

Also, congrats to Frankie!

Good luck on the roadtrip this weekend, Komets!

Fri, 03/11/2011 - 5:23pm

Congrats to Frankie!

Any idea if Mirasty is coming off the IR?

Blake Sebring
Fri, 03/11/2011 - 5:43pm

He's off.

Fri, 03/11/2011 - 5:48pm

Okay thanks figured he was. Just haven't seen anything official on the transaction page.

Fri, 03/11/2011 - 8:41pm

Wow, great job, Frankie! Very nice accomplishment. I am very proud of you!

Sat, 03/12/2011 - 3:23pm

Congratulations to Franikie! It's a great honor. Glad to see at least one Komet nominated somewhere!