• Twitter
  • Facebook
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.
Tailing the Komets

This is not hockey

But it's still very interesting, especially if you are a baseball fan. I wonder what the rule is on this? Chuckitt, any ideas? Dschebig, Mr.

Posted in: Komets


Hockey Fan for Life
Sat, 07/09/2011 - 7:58pm

Yes. This happened over a year ago. A batter can switch sides only once during a plate appearence.

Hit Somebody!!!
Sat, 07/09/2011 - 8:37pm

I caught a pitcher in college...Jason Mahoney....pitched with both hands.....The rule was that a pitcher had to declare which hand he would be pitching with before the batter took his at bat and once you selected say...right hand...you could not switch until the next batter.

I caught doubleheader in which Jason pitched the first game right handed and the second game left handed.

It was amazing. He also would pitch one inning lefty and the next righty often....played 3rd base righty, and first lefty.

He was a good ball player and a good guy.

Sun, 07/10/2011 - 4:09pm

Sounds like they (HFFL & Hit) got it right. Guess you don't need me after all!

Thu, 07/14/2011 - 9:10pm

It depends what rules you are talking about. A pitcher must start and finish a batter pitching from the same arm. The batter may switch sides once per at bat and only if the pitcher isnt on the rubber. I have only seen this one time in my umpiring career and it was an NCAA D2 game in Kenntucky.