Er... Did I just see O'Connor tell Bertram to kiss his stick after his second goal? Hey, why not...
So what was the deal with Macdonald getting thrown out? I never did see what he did, and if it was for something verbal, I didn't hear it. At the time, it seemed like it had something to do with the penalties that were called 30 seconds earlier (MacMillan crosschecking and Sawyer roughing).
Wendy--I can help you with this. The referee said he (MacDonald) called him a *******ker. I climbed poles for a number of years and no one called me a poleclimber. So I ask him (the Ref) just how MacDonald would know that about him. He didn't give me an answer to that question. I hope that helps you out!
@Dennis: I thought he got the first one (Misconduct) for that, but got tossed for leaving the penalty box after the fact.
Thanks for clearing that up, Dennis. I was wondering what had happened myself.
It could also have something to do with him getting the ref's attention as he skated across the ice and using his opposite hand to flip up a certain finger while smiling and talking to the ref. Authority figures just don't seem to think getting flipped off is as funny as the rest of us for some reason. No sense of humor!
I dont thing he was giving the middle finger, he was clapping at the Ref as he skated by.
Before the clap, at about half-ice or just after, he gave the one-finger salute at about half mast and kept acting like he was pulling it up with his other hand. The ref did/said something back to him, then he started clapping at the response and smiled as he skated off the ice. I was basically looking over the ref's shoulder and it was very clear.
Lest we forget, I think it is important to remind everyone that Muskegon lost last night. The next three games are SO important. Just like the snake that they brought out for the ceremonnial faceoff last night, "you always want to stay within striking distance."
Brandan--NO he did not get a penalty for leaving the box to go to the dressing room. The penalty was called at 9:56. of the period. That left only 4 seconds in the period. It is not unusual for players to go to the dressing room if there isn't going to be anytime left in the period after their penalty is up. He would not have been able to go back on the ice until there was a stoppage of play. The misconduct was for his over abundance of complaining about the other calls or lack there of. He earned the Game Misconduct for making his argument personal. I know of no official in any sport that will let you make it personal and not remove you from the game. I hope that helps you out.
Roll the Bull Durham clip.... "I've never seen Crash so angry. And frankly sports fans he used a certain word that's a no no with umpires."
"Crash must have called the guy a XX..."
"He's such a romantic"
@Dennis - thanks for the clarification!