I talked with IHL Vice President of Hockey Operations Brad Jones after the game, and he said Bob Langdon called a penalty shot because a reasonable scoring opportunity was taken away. It's a misconception that if a player gets a shot off a penalty shot cannot be called, Jones said.
"The rule is that if a player is fouled from behind and there's nobody between him and the goaltender and a reasonable scoring opportunity is taken away because of a foul in the judgment of the referee to make that call, it's a penalty shot," Jones said. "He felt in his judgment that a reasonable scoring opportunity was taken away. He felt that he would have had a better opportunity if Guy hadn't fouled him. Did he get a shot off? Yes, he did."
Jones said the call is under Rule 57.3 in the rule book .
Guy said after the game he did push Robinson's elbow with his stick and Robinson was ahead of him on the play.
"I was trying to distract his shot a little bit and touched his elbow," Dupuis said. "He was still able to get a shot on net. Was that supposed to be a penalty shot? I'm not a referee but he still got a shot on net and Bouch made the save. The referee thought it should have been a penalty shot."
Under that interpretation of the rule, it should have been a penalt