• Twitter
  • Facebook
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.
Tailing the Komets

Congrats to Ben Smith and Mike Emrick

They will be inducted into the Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Hall of Fame on Saturday!

*Ben Smith: *Columnist for the Fort Wayne Journal-Gazette. Smith has been a part of the J-G staff since 1986 and a sportswriter in Indiana since graduating from Ball State in 1977. He has covered 27 Indianapolis 500s, 18 Brickyard 400s, several Final Fours, Super Bowls, the Pan-Am Games and several college football bowl games and golf majors. He has been recognized by the HSPA, SPJ, Indiana AP Managing Editors and APSE, as well as being the ISSA's Sportswriter of the Year.

*Mike Emrick: *The voice of hockey in the United States for many years, Emrick has been the lead play-by-play announcer for the NHL games NBC since 2005, and has also filled the same role for Fox and ESPN. He has worked seven Olympic Games for NBC, CBS and TNT, and was also for many years the lead television play-by-play voice of the New Jersey Devils. "Doc" Emrick is  a native of LaFontaine, Indiana, and graduated from Manchester College. He returned to Indiana this fall to work a Fort Wayne Komets game with Bob Chase on WOWO. He is a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame, the United States Hockey Hall of Fame and has been awarded the Lester Patrick Award by the NHL for service to hockey.

*Long-time WGL broadcaster Len Davis will also posthumously receve a Distinguished Service Award