• Twitter
  • Facebook
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.
Tailing the Komets

ECHL announces division changes

From an ECHL press release:

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Thursday the revised divisional alignment and format for the 2015 Kelly Cup Playoffs following the approval of seven expansion teams on Tuesday.

As approved by the Board of Governors, the conference and divisional alignment for the 2014-15 season will be as follows:

Eastern Conference

North Division

Cincinnati Cyclones, Evansville IceMen, Fort Wayne Komets, Indy Fuel, Kalamazoo Wings Toledo Walleye, Wheeling Nailers

East Division

Elmira Jackals, Florida Everblades, Greenville Road Warriors, Gwinnett Gladiators, Orlando Solar Bears, Reading Royals, South Carolina Stingrays

Western Conference

Central Division

Allen Americans, Brampton Beast, Missouri Mavericks, Quad City Mallards, Rapid City Rush, Tulsa Oilers, Wichita Thunder

Pacific Division

Alaska Aces, Bakersfield Condors, Colorado Eagles, Idaho Steelheads, Ontario Reign, Stockton Thunder, Utah Grizzlies

The top four teams in each division during the regular season will qualify for the 2015 Kelly Cup Playoffs. All four rounds of the playoffs will be played in a best-of-seven format. First two rounds will remain within the divisions.


Fri, 10/10/2014 - 12:07am

Divisions look good, but I would swap Reading for Wheeling.   Next season, move Brampton to North division.    ECHL website has Reno, Nevada as a future market, could that be where Las Vegas may end up to get an arena?

Fri, 10/10/2014 - 12:24am

Las Vegas is building a new 20'000 seat arena and will going to the nhl 2016