• Twitter
  • Facebook
News-Sentinel.com Your Town. Your Voice.
Tailing the Komets

What do you think of this?


Tue, 11/04/2014 - 1:33am


Tue, 11/04/2014 - 10:50am

Well, to quote former professional wrestler Jesse Ventura, who also went on to become Governor of Minnesota,  "win if you can, lose if you must...but always cheat!"

It kind of looks like he did both in the video.

Tue, 11/04/2014 - 1:35pm

I've been sayinn for a few years...

Now that we live in a world where shootouts decide games...the penalty shot has largely lost its effectiveness...as EVERY goalie now is skilled at stopping penalty shots.

Need to change the rules so that the offending team is still a man short if the shot fails.

Otherwise, why NOT close your hand on a puck in the crease, or yank a guy down from behind...when the success rate of a penalty shot is undoubtedly well below 25%.

This was a perfect case-in-point...of cheating to win.

Ron Heathman
Tue, 11/04/2014 - 2:26pm

say what you want but to me I thought it was a absolutly a genious move on the goalies part. Who would have ever thought that a trick like that would ever been thought of before. I love it !!!!!!

Tue, 11/04/2014 - 5:16pm

According to ECHL rule 25.2, if the attacking player was in the act of shooting then a goal should have been awarded.  The man never got a chance to shoot , but I think that an awarded goal would still be in order.  That would stop this type of stunt.

25.2 Infractions – When Goalkeeper is On the Ice – A goal will be awarded when an attacking player, in the act of shooting the puck into the goal (between the normal position of the posts and completely across the goal line), is prevented from scoring as a result of a defending player or goalkeeper displacing the goal post, either deliberately or accidentally.

Blake Sebring
Tue, 11/04/2014 - 7:19pm

I thought the same thing.